Simple Living 101

Simple living in a nutshell is living with less. Pardon the French…but it’s something like this…

 Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 11.15.12 AM

It’s living a life consistent with this quote:

best things
I don’t like sharing belly pics for reasons obvious to those going through infertility or loss…also because I’m kinda insecure about my 36 week belly/arms/face/etc but I’m choosing to share this one today because I believe this quote to be so good & so true. Props to Stephanie Michelle Photography for the photo. In the midst of the fear I faced throughout the pregnancy, I’m so glad we stopped to take a few pics.

I’ve always been fascinated with the Amish way of life. I’m fascinated by people who practice “sustainable living”…growing their own vegetables & bartering & leaving teensy carbon footprints. I’m fascinated with the tiny house movement (which we will not be participating in 😉

******

Is gardening in my future?? Do I have a green thumb? I’ll let you decide that on your own based on this little story:

Multiple tragic times I’ve been given a potted plant as a gift. My heart sinks when I see the green thing enter my house. Said gift givers see my agony and then smile as they give the same disclaimer I’ve heard so many times, “Don’t worry! This plant “_____insert name I’ll never remember” is super easy to take care of! You couldn’t kill it if you tried.”

Not. True, my friend. I can kill it. Needless to say, I won’t be starting a garden. At least not right now when we have two under three…or ever. Yeah probably never.

But there are about 5 thousand other ways I can simplify, and I’m so intrigued and drawn in…like Marlin and Dory to the “Angler fish.”

******

live simply

Thankfully, Kevin is excited about it too. You guys…our house is too big!

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 11.26.25 AM When we bought it two years ago we thought “The bigger the better! We’ll grow into it and have five kids and use every square inch.” But the truth is…we don’t use it or need it right now, so we want to move on! 

Albeit, this isn’t the best sales pitch for our beautiful house…but its undeniable. Want to sell. We want to simplify…and we are doing a happy dance over here about it!

It’s time to give our stuff away. It’s time to downsize. (We’re not like, turning Amish, but moving more toward that end of the spectrum than we are now). I think it’ll be hard at times and I have noooooo idea what it’ll look like, but it definitely means using our time, space and money more efficiently.

Is anyone else drawn to that?! I was afraid at first but now I’m excited, especially cuz it’s oober trendy right now, so there are lots of good resources out there!

These are some of the blogs I like a lot and will be having coffee with in the near future:

Be More With Less

Miss Minimalist

The Simple Year

Slow Your Home

Stay tuned as I keep you updated on our simple living journey. Maybe it’ll inspire you to declutter your life as I declutter mine. It’s gonna feel so good!!

 

Raise your mug this morning (or afternoon) to simple living!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Simple Living 101

  1. Raising my protein shake with you! (cause the wod was so hard today!) I just challenged myself to reuse or rehome or trash three things a day! We are completely on the same page friend! So exciting! And talk about doing something that scares you…driving a wedge between me and stuff is a little daunting but so so good!

  2. Hurray for living simply! We are gearing up to move into a 320 square foot barn apartment while we build a small house. It will definitely be an adjustment, but we’re looking forward to the adventure. And our son can tell his friends that he really WAS raised in a barn.

    The move has definitely made me look differently at all the “stuff.” If we don’t need it for a year while we build, do we really need it? That is the real question for us. =)

    Best of luck in your journey!

Leave a Reply

