Encourage her

en·cour·age
enˈkərij,-ˈkə-rij/
verb
  1. give support, confidence, or hope to (someone).
     
    That woman you see walking her dog by herself. That girl at the coffeeshop. That frazzled mommy at Chick Fil A or Target. That friend of yours who drains you. Your spouse. Your crazy kiddos who you desperately want to see go back to school. That loner you know. EVERYONE!!!
     
    They. Need. Your. Encouragement.
     
    Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 7.07.28 AM
     
    Pour out some joy and (I promise) it will have a reciprocal effect. Say stuff like:
    “Hey you look great today.”
    “You have a gorgeous smile.”
    “Your family is beautiful” (even if they’re the most rambunctious little boogies you’ve ever seen!)
    “Thank you for ________. You are so good at _______.”
    “You are one of the most _________ people I have ever met.”
     
    Carve out 30 minutes to grab coffee and deliver it to someone you love or maybe someone you don’t know well with the sole mission of encouraging them. Send some snail mail love. Too lazy for the USPS? Shoot a text. Let’s simplify even more, just show those pearly whites to someone in need of a smile. 
     
    We are such frail human beings! Encouragement can make the difference someone needs so desperately. For me, words are enough. They are free and so small, but they have changed my life.
     
    Every single time I do a speaking engagement or write a blog and someone says something like: “Thank you so much, that was exactly what I needed to hear today” …I seriously feel like I can change the world. I am filled with joy and fulfillment. I feel inspired and courageous in my calling to write/speak and that tiny phrase someone said to me changes my entire day/week.
     
    On the other hand, anytime I go a week or two without a word of encouragement, I find myself slipping into failure mentality and considering whether or not I should even continue writing/speaking/doing what I do.
     
    WHAT?! I’m SO FRAGILE and frankly, embarrassed to admit my weakness in this way. But I think it’s a common sentiment. We were made to live in community and to encourage one another…yet, we are in a culture of independence (and isolation.)
     
    People are lonely. Lots of us spend our days hunkering down and “doing what we do” and it keeps us from sharing life and doling out ‘words that give life.’ And we start believing lies that we suck. But you don’t suck! You are awesome!!!
     
    Encouraging comes easier for some than others, sometimes depending on how much you were praised as a kid or how insecure praising others can make you feel. BUT, encouragement has the power to change the atmosphere of our friend circles, our community and our relationships…
     
    The people you lord over at work…your lazy co-workers…want them to do better? ENCOURAGE THE CRAPPINESS OUT OF THEM! Say “you’re doing a great job of ______” and they will step up their game. It’s quite opposite of what you might think or expect.
     
    I dare you to encourage your spouse instead of tearing them down when they’re driving you nutso and just watch how that changes the dynamic.
     
    Simply put, human beans need praise. And you should give it away. It costs nothing, brings you joy and could mean everything to them.
     
    Your mission for today: encourage 3 people. Bonus points if you share with me who you encouraged and why.
     
     1 Thessalonians 5:11 “Encourage one another and build each other up…”
2 thoughts on “Encourage her

  1. I have to say that I encourage people way more after I’ve hung out with you for a bit! You are such a natural encourager and its contagious! We forget how easy it is to encourage people. Such a good reminder, Livs!

Leave a Reply

