Marathon Monday: Top 10 reasons I’m thankful to train for Nashville

I just want to take a moment to say how thankful I am that I have an opportunity to run a marathon. (SO original for Thanksgiving week, I know.)

10. I get to go to Nashville TN in April!! Apparently it’s a sweet city. Also very hilly.

9. I can eat more candy. and cookies. and cake.  I kinda have a sweet tooth. (Understatement of the day. Read about my $10,000 mouth on my old blog 🙂

8. I have an excuse to drink energy drinks and chocolate milk…and eat more carbs.

7. I am healthy enough to run. I am learning to NEVER take this for granted.

6. I get some really awesome time with the Lord on my runs. I have some awesome worship radio stations on Spotify that pretty much rock. When I’m running at the gym, I usually have to restrain myself from lifting my hands in worship. I also get time to clear my mind, pray, and listen to Matt Chandler and other amazing pastors.

5. My amazing husband (and training partner on the home front) is so supportive. He spends every Saturday morning wrestling around on the floor with our munchkins so that I can go do my long run. He listens to my run-play-by-plays and cheers me on. This is just one of the bagillion reasons why I love him, and why I love the team aspect of marriage.

Image

4. I’m thankful that I’m becoming more aware of how many people in this world don’t even have clean water. This is why I’m running for Team Compassion in April to raise money to help dig more wells in villages and towns where they STILL WALK MILES for clean water. 2013. Billions being spent on Christmas PRESENTS. Something is messed up with that. Help me meet my goal!! Donate $26.20 TODAY!! (clicking the link to my race page will not MAKE you give the $…but you can see my fundraising progress and read more about my decision to race for Compassion!)

3. Me-Time. It’s easy with kids to feel like I’m always giving out…and in that wonderful process…it’s easy to feel like I’ve lost a little bit of who I am and what I loved to do before kids came along. I used to love running and after taking some time off for fertility reasons, I’m finding that enjoyment through running again. And it rocks.

2. I can run because I’m not trying to get pregnant, and I’m not on bedrest because I’m not pregnant and trying to avoid another miscarriage. HALLELUJAH!!! I took the last 3 years off of intense running/working out because of our difficulty with pregnancies. I am so so so so so thankful that I have (a little) more energy and no stress related to childbearing for the time being. “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven” -Ecclesiastes 3:1

1. I am shooting for the moon. I love setting goals, but I don’t always love doing all the work it takes to achieve them.

I just read this quote in my planner:

“Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true.” -Leon Suenes

I will run 500 miles over the 30 week training period and hopefully run 26.2 on April 26th. Running a marathon is something that always seemed SO unattainable to me, but as corny as it sounds, I’m so proud of myself for even trying! One day at a time… =)

I know you’ve all heard the corny quote, “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss you’ll land among the stars.” Sappy.

But seriously, I’m so happy to even be working toward something this monumental. I have so many friends who have inspired me!! You have graduated medical school, grad school…you have completed marathons…(even the Boston!) You have published books and climbed mountains and passed tests and started businesses….YOU ARE MY INSPIRATION!

Do you have a goal you have always thought about but haven’t started working towards achieving it? Now is the time. SEIZE THE DAY!

Happy Marathon Monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

