Inventions…part 0

I grew up wanting to be an inventor. (And a lawyer, a movie star, an astronaut, and the first female president.) Pretty sure I was trying to impress my parents. But when push came to shove, I realized that those five things most likely wouldn’t pan out. 1) I couldn’t find people to invest in my “inventions” 2) I don’t love school 3) I’m not that great at acting 4) Being in space sounds more scary than cool now (not to mention MORE SCHOOL) and 5) I SERIOUSLY don’t “get” politics.

IMG_5931

When I got my first full time job as a recruiter, my inner-free-spirit was so stifled that I quit a year in. I realized that maybe I was just wired to do random activities and side jobs. I began pursuing yoga instructing, writing, and my (crazy) journey down i-want-a-baby lane. Truth be told, I’ve always been a busy bee between random activities and part time jobs.

But even in my hippity hoppity adulthood, I can’t shut off my inner inventor! ALMOST EVERYDAY I think of something else I wish was invented. If it’s not something new I’m thinking up, I’m convincing myself that my past theoretical inventions really should be invented.

My friend Jennifer and I used to sit up in her playroom and invent things (better defined as “think up things that should be invented”). I kid you not…YEARS before you could get zip off pants at the sporting goods store, WE thought of them because we were always unsure of whether the weather called for pants or (too-short) shorts! (hott, I know)

Screen Shot 2013-10-29 at 12.33.42 PM

Another idea we were convinced we would coin was the “recliner with built in cup holders and remote control holders.” BOOM…a few short years later there they were on the floors at furniture stores!  You better believe we had “I-told-you-so” conversations with our parents who had laughed and said “cute” when we presented them with our million dollar ideas!

Screen Shot 2013-10-29 at 12.43.39 PM

In middle school, my friend Bekah and I invented candy steam. You took a film canister (old school-yes) and put smarties inside. You shook it up really hard and then removed the cap and inhaled the delicious candy steam. We thought it was great because it was calorie free (Jr. High-weight-conscious girls….another post for another day) and we felt cool sucking in the steam. Sorta like reverse smoking. My parents are attorneys so I thought for sure they would help me get a patent on the product. We still haven’t seen that one on the shelves. (haha)

Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 12.15.27 PM

Maybe it’s the spoiled American in me, but I’m always thinking of new things that I want that haven’t been invented yet! BUT with two kiddos under 21 months and my 3 random side jobs (writing, holy yoga instructing & doing 10 hrs/wk of marketing for my hubby)  I just don’t have time to patent, craft prototypes, get on shark tank and of course I also don’t have time for the fame and fortune that would come with all that :D. SO, I’m hoping maybe YOU CAN!!

This is the teaser installment of my Invention series. Each week, I’m going to post a new invention idea and I totally give all of you readers my official “okay” to go make it happen. You will be rich! (All I ask is that I get one for free, deal?!)

What do you wish you could buy? What are your invention ideas? Would you buy my candy steam? (lol) What did you want to be when you grew up?

One thought on “Inventions…part 0

  1. I thought of an invention! The other night When we were all sitting down for dinner I was fumbling for a place to stash the removable tray for the highchair (we have the kind that fits into a regular chair). I said “I wish someone would invent a highchair that came with some sort of place to store the tray for when you are not using it! Hey! I should put that on Liv’s blog!”
    There you have it!

Leave a Reply

