Now that I’m a mommy

Well, folks. Most of my preconcieved positive notions of being a mommy have been spot on. I have never been more in love with a child. I have never felt more fulfilled in my life. However, I had NO IDEA, I repeat NO IDEA how much work it was! (if you are already a mommy, insert laugh.) I have nannied and babysat since I was 11, and I still had no idea what sleep deprivation can add to the mix, and just what it’s like to do the same feeding/changing diapers and clothes/spit-up routine day in and out. I love it, but as I have told many of you already, I still feel a little shell shocked.

Now that I’m a mommy,

-I’m lucky if I shower daily. Yep, gross I know. This leads to the next one.

-I wear my hair in a not-bouncy ย ponytail or a wet, un-cute messy bun 6 out of 7 days a week.

-I am in terrible need of hilights or lowlights…but instead I’m probably going to dye it from a box because it’s the fastest option. (Who knows when that will actually happen though ๐Ÿ™‚

-I see naps as the best afternoon gift I could ever receive. Over getting a pedicure, over walking around Target, over Whitey’s or any other afternoon treat you can imagine.

-I can fall asleep in 3 seconds flat. Naptime or night time. For that matter, it could be anywhere. In the car, sitting in a chair, etc.

-When baby Coleton isn’t with me, I feel like I’m missing an arm and a leg!

-I am obligated to do laundry every day…my minimum is one rotation. This means one load goes in and I fold and put away one load. This is in effort to work my way up to TRYING cloth diapers.

-I throw a little party in the middle of every night with girlscout cookies of all varieties and milk when Coleton makes it five hours, which is pretty much every night ๐Ÿ™‚

-My sentences often do not make sense and I lose my train of thought often. This applies to facebook, thank you notes, and talking. I’ve tried focusing harder. It doesn’t help.

-I enjoy Steve Green as much as I used to when I was a kid. It’s just as cool…and we rock out to it in the car.

-I worry daily that my iphone picture storage will tell me that it’s full. I have to be getting close!

-I text every member of my family about 4x a week, and demand responses about how cute Coleton is. haha. My mom had to up her text message limit.

-I’m more caffeine dependent than ever.

-I drive oh-so-much safer.

-My life has taken on a whole new meaning, a new feeling of being needed. I feel like our family is even more a “unit” now. It is the best.

Last night for date night we sat outside on the back porch and fed each other pizza, depending on who was feeding Coleton. You would think that we could just eat after he ate, but we were starving. Hence the choice of dinner. We watched a netflix movie (the Double..loved it) and just chilled at home. It was one of my favorite date nights ever.

Image

Coleton, baby, you were so worth the wait. I can’t wait until Jesus returns and all of our kids can play together. Oh Glorious Day.

I think it’s time for my second cup of coffee. and then go take a nap. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I said I wanted 5 kids…haha. We shall see.

4 thoughts on “Now that I’m a mommy

  1. Love this, Olivia. As seasoned mommies, we can tell you how hard and awesome motherhood is, but it doesn’t take until you experience the pure joy and exhaustion of it all. I think that’s how God created us. You are doing an awesome job, girl! Love your heart for your family. You are amazing.

  2. Motherhood looks good on you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so happy for you guys. It sounds like you’re doing pretty well, sleep deprivation aside! (Side note… J did not sleep more than 3 hours at a time until he was about 6 months old. and he didn’t sleep through the night until 15 months… after he did, i was a whole new person!)

  3. You know my sleep deprivation stories so you know I understand! It all gets better with time! You have been doing wonderfully!

Leave a Reply

