The BRAND NEW man in my life

ImageSO this is the day. Coleton Samuel Ryan is (somewhat) officially a member of our clan. Our tribe. Our little family. We are overjoyed to welcome him into this world!

It all started last tuesday morning, Valentine’s Day bright and early. We met up with Mandee and her sister at the hospital at 6am and got things rolling with her induction. 

Things moved slowly throughout the day, with an epidural coming to spare our hero a little pain, and by 6pm we were thinking that it might be a few more hours. *sigh* So her family along with Kevin and I were in the waiting room eating some Pizza Hut that we had delivered…when I got a text from Mandee: “Come on back, we’re ready!” 

Hearts racing…her little sister and I went back to the delivery room where she had progressed to a 10 over a short hour. It was roughly 7:15 or 7:30pm when Mandee started pushing. It was a beautiful and VERY fast final part of labor with Brandee (the sis) and me holding Mandee’s hands and probably shaking more than the birth mom herself! Mandee was such a champ. Seriously, I don’t feel like there is a better use for that word. She literally didn’t even break a sweat OR scream or even grunt!! . She made labor look like a walk in the park. It was crazy. Brandee and I left that experience feeling like “holy crap, I could do that!!”…and the nurses were like “umm…that is not. normal.” haha. 

I was bawling from the moment he came out…well, I tried to keep it under control because I knew there would be lots of pictures happening and I didn’t want Coleton thinking his mommy was a spaz later in life when he looks at the pics!! haha. But it was probably the most emotional experience of my life. I was overwhelmed with thanks toward Mandee and her ridiculous strength and selflessness. I was flooded with love toward this little child…the most beautiful child I have ever seen or held! I felt like God had given us such a gift to experience the love of a parent for this baby child that we had never met…or carried…or created.

We felt the nearness of God as we experienced a glimpse of his agape love, feeling like we would already give our lives for this little six-pound baby boy.

Today is a really special day for us because Coleton Samuel Ryan is (except for some legal proceedings that will last all they way until 6 months) an official part of our family. We feel so much peace about the whole situation, and we feel like the “waiting on the Lord” has been worth it. All the heartbreak over the last 25 months….loss after loss…tears and pain….Sorrow has finally been turned to joy. Weeping and wailing…into dancing and song. There is nothing like it.

Psalm 130:11-12

11 You turned my wailing into dancing;

you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,

12 that my heart may sing to you and not be silent.

O Lord my God, I will give you thanks forever.

 We give all the praise and glory to God the Father of the universe for creating his precious child in his beautiful mommy’s womb. For softening her heart and giving her a strength that only He could give for her to make such a selfless decision. We love her and will hold a special place in our hearts for her forever. Unbridled gratitude is what our hearts feel toward God our perfect Father and toward Mandee…our sweet friend.

And no number of poopy diapers could take away this joy…even when they come 5 minutes after his bath. Even when they come 10 times each day…hehe. 

No number of night feedings could take that joy away. God is our strength and our song, and our portion forever. 

Thank you guys for praying, for supporting, and for covering us with love. Coleton Samuel has been so ridiculously worth the wait. 

(typos? Don’t judge me unless you yourself are only sleeping in 3 hour (max) spurts at a time. 🙂 heheImage

6 thoughts on “The BRAND NEW man in my life

  1. i could not be more happy for you and kevin. the look on your face in all of the photos speaks for itself… you are an amazing mother already. so, so happy for you guys!! seriously, if you need anything, let me know. i can message you my phone number if you want. i wish i lived close so i could come over and bring you a meal and hold him. 🙂 enjoy this time with him and take lots of pictures! you will want them later!

  2. Congratulations!! As an adoptive mother of four, I can not imagine anything more beautiful than God uniting you with your soul child.

  3. Every few days, Erik and I turn to each other and say “Isn’t it so awesome that Olivia and Kevin have a baby boy???” and we get on facebook to talk about how cute he is all over again. He really is EXTRA cute. I’m waiting in breathless anticipation for more posts about little Coleton!

Leave a Reply

